The Dhamma Teaching Platform at Jetavana Park Savatthi, India from where the Buddha Taught His Assembly.

Buddha Dhamma Teaching Program

Practical guidance and instructions on how to apply the Buddha’s Teachings in our everyday lives. Buddha Dhamma Teachings and Meditation from the main schools of Buddhism; Theravada, Mahayana, Vajrayana and Chan (Zen) guided by visiting or resident Dhamma Teachers.

Our Schedule 2024

Weekly

Weekly Saturday Meditation Class

Saturday evening Buddhist Teaching and Meditation class from 8.00pm to 10.00pm guided by a Buddhist Monk or Nun or resident lay teachers.

Classes are free of charge.

Monthly

Practice Day

Last Saturday of each month – 10.30am start.

Courses

Introduction to Buddhism Course

Our Introduction to Buddhism Course is provided to give a brief introduction to Buddhist teachings and practice which can help us find meaning in life and support our inner peace, wellbeing and happiness in a friendly and welcoming environment.

We explain how to develop some very practical life skills which have many proven benefits to help us live our daily lives.

The classes are conducted at our centre located at 33 Brooking Street, Upwey, Vic, 3158 on Saturday afternoons from 2.00pm to 4.00pm, the first onsite course beginning on the 24th February 2024. The course is also available online, Tuesdays at 8:00pm on Zoom. The first online course begins on the 26th March 2024.

See dates below.

The course is free of charge and is based on the book “Bringing Wisdom to Life”. All participants will be given a copy of this book which we will use during the course.

You can view a short video about the course by clicking here.

Feel free to email us at wbu@bdcu.org.au if you have any questions or to register for the course.

Introduction to Buddhism Course – Online

“Bringing Wisdom To Life” – Tuesdays 8.00pm – 26th March to 30th April on Zoom
“Bringing Wisdom To Life” – Tuesdays 8.00pm – 6th August to 10th of September on Zoom

Introduction to Buddhism Course – Onsite

“Bringing Wisdom To Life” – Saturday 2.00pm – 24th February to 23rd March
“Bringing Wisdom To Life” – Saturday 2.00pm – 18th May to 22nd June
“Bringing Wisdom To Life” – Saturday 2.00pm – 13th July to 24th August (excluding 10/8)
“Bringing Wisdom To Life” – Saturday 2.00pm – 14th September to 26th October (excluding 28/9)
“Bringing Wisdom To Life” – Saturday 2.00pm – 9th November to 14th December (Optional)

Retreat Courses

Labour Day Long Weekend – 9th to 11th of March (Sat to Mon)
Autumn Easter Course – 29th March to 1st of April (Fri to Mon)
Winter June Course – 8th to 10th of June (King’s Birthday) (Sat to Mon)
Spring September Course – 27th to 29th of September (Fri to Sun)
Summer Christmas Course – 27thto 31st December (Fri to Tues)

Children’s Classes in Buddhism

Classes in Buddhism for children of various ages accompanied by at least one of their parents.

Classes will be led by professional school teachers who are Members of our centre holding a current Working with Children Check. These classes result from requests from parents wishing to find a place for their children to learn attitudes and behaviours based on Buddhist Teachings.

For further information please email wbu@bdcu.org.au

Class Dates

Sundays 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Term 1: TBA
Term 2: TBA
Term 3: TBA

Chan Painting Classes 2024

Chan painting is an ancient Buddhist Dhamma practice that trains the mind through the use of ink, paper, ink slab and brush, over the four seasons.

Chan class fees are $25 per class. Painting materials are supplied.

Class Dates – TBA

The Buddhist Hour Radio Program

3MDR Radio Station 97.1 FM

Sunday 4pm to 5pm each week.

Yearly

Pujas

Surangama – Saturday 3rd February
Manjusri – Saturday 9th March
Medicine Buddha – Saturday 13th April
Sakyamuni Buddha – Thursday 23rd May
Sarasvati – Saturday 8th June
Dragon King – Saturday 6th July
Sukhavati – Saturday 3rd August
Green Tara – Saturday 28th September
Vajrasattva – Saturday the 5th October
Padmasambhava – Saturday the 2nd November
Medicine Buddha – Saturday the 28th December

Padmasambhava TSOK

  • Monday, 19th February
  • Tuesday, 19th March
  • Thursday, 18th April (10.00pm)
  • Saturday, 18th May
  • Sunday, 16th June
  • Tuesday, 16th July
  • Wednesday, 14th August
  • Friday, 13th September
  • Saturday, 12th October
  • Monday, 11th November
  • Tuesday, 10th December

BDC Vesak Commemoration

Saturday 25th May at 8PM & Thursday 23rd of May at 11.53PM

UN Day of Vesak Commemoration

Saturday 11th May at 7AM

UN Vesak Dinner

Saturday 6th April at 6PM